Photo - Rakhine Hluttaw Journal / San Mrat Shwe

Khaing Roe La | DMG

25 July, Sittwe


The World Bank will initially provide aid for the regional development program in Sittwe, Pauktaw and Myebon Townships, but will omit two townships where regional stability has been disrupted due to fighting between the Tatmadaw and the AA, said U Mya Than, deputy speaker of the Arakan State Hluttaw.


The World Bank made a pledge to leaders of the Arakan State parliament four months ago to provide USD 100 million for socio-economic development of Sittwe, Pauktaw, Ponnagyun, Minbya and Mrauk-U Townships.


Economist Dr. Mauro Testaverde and a delegation from the World Bank visited Arakan State parliament on 23 July and met with parliament speaker U San Kyaw Hla and deputy speaker U Mya Than and said they will initiate the program in three townships.


“They selected Sittwe, Pauktaw and Myebon Townships as first priority locations,” said U Mya Than on 24 July.


He added that the World Bank will keep on providing aid for Mrauk-U and Minbya Townships when the regions are stable.


The World Bank’s USD 100 million-project will mainly provide aid for agriculture, livestock and fisheries and the program include technical training, the deputy speaker said.


The World Bank’s delegation listened to suggestions from the Arakan State parliament on how to conduct initial observations for the program to implement in the three townships they selected.


They are going to start initial observations when they come next time, but the DMG does not know when they would return to kick start the projects.


Pin It