Min Tun | DMG
2 August, Sittwe

Six women from the Arakan National Party are scheduled to contest the upcoming 2020 general election, according to the candidate lineup unveiled by the ANP on August 2.

For the Upper House, the ANP’s Daw Khin Hla Myaing will compete in Constituency No. 1 representing Kyaukphyu and Manaung townships.

In addition, ANP female candidates Daw Mya Mya Thein from Maungdaw Constituency, Daw Khin Saw Wai from Rathedaung Constituency, and Daw Hla Thet Soe aka Khin Hteikhtar from Taungup Constituency will vie for those three seats in the Lower House.

In the Arakan State parliament, Daw Khin Myo Shin will run in Taungup Township Constituency-2 and Daw Tin Yi will contend for Manaung Township Constituency-2.

The ANP said its candidates would contest all 12 Upper House constituencies and all 17 Lower House constituencies in Arakan State.

ANP candidates will contest all 34 elected seats in the Arakan State legislature, and U Oo Myint Kyaw will reportedly run for the post of Yangon Region’s Arakanese ethnic affairs minister under the party banner.

The National League for Democracy (NLD), a major ANP rival, will contest seats in seven of Arakan State’s Upper House constituencies.

For the Lower House, NLD candidates will compete for 15 constituencies in Arakan State. The party’s candidates will also contest 29 constituencies in the Arakan State parliament.

The 2020 general election will be held on November 8, the Union Election Commission announced last month.

Pin It


Privacy for IDP females is scarce
Devoted teacher still languishes behind bars
Ma Phyu’s Story: Living Life in Limbo


2020: An Arakan Year in Review
Six takeaways from the Arakan State elections

Find us on Facebook