The new Yoe Chaung Bridge in Kyauktaw Township, Arakan State.

DMG Newsroom
29 April 2022, Sittwe 

The Arakan State Bridge Construction Department aims to this year complete four out of eight bridges measuring between 280 feet and 300 feet in length that are being built in Sittwe, Kyauktaw, Mrauk-U, Myebon, Maungdaw, Pauktaw, Rathedaung and Ponnagyun townships, according to an official from the department. 

The eight bridges in total are being constructed at an estimated cost of 7 billion kyats ($3.8 million), deputy director of the Arakan State Bridge Construction Department U Min Khaing told DMG. 

The bridges to be built are Yoe Chaung Bridge in Kyauktaw; Pyun Shae Bridge in Myebon; Bridge No. 8 on the Kyein Chaung-Guppi road in Maungdaw; Ngapyigyi Chaung Bridge in Pauktaw; Karmaychaung Bridge in Rathedaung; Warbo Chaung Bridge in Sittwe; Bawdarchaung Bridge in Pauktaw; and Tankho Bridge in Ponnagyun, according to the department. 

“The Pyun Shae Bridge, which is a bailey structure; the bridge in Maungdaw; Ngapyigyi Chaung; and Karmaychaung Bridge will be completed this year,” he said, adding that the department also plans to construct one more bridge each in Mrauk-U and Ponnagyun.  

“We have yet to conduct a field survey for construction of those two bridges. We have to report to upper-level authorities if the two bridges are to be longer than 300 feet,” explained U Min Khaing. 

According to the Bridge Construction Department, K1 billion has been earmarked for construction of Yoe Chaung Bridge; K452 million for Pyun Shae Bridge; K400 million for Bridge No. 8; K50 million each for Ngapyigyi Chaung Bridge and Warbo Chaung Bridge; and K100 million each for Bawdar Chaung Bridge and Tankho Bridge, out of the six-month mini-budget for the current fiscal year. 

The department said more than K75 billion was spent to construct roads and bridges in fiscal year 2020-21.

Pin It